Real Sports Entertainment Network

Soccer: USA, Mexico and Canada submit joint 2026 World Cup bid

Three powerhouse nations in CONCACAF soccer have come together to submit a bid to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

The United States, Canada and Mexico teamed up to submit the joint bid, announced on Monday. Sunil Gulati, president of U.S. Soccer spoke on the “historic” day for the three nations- and CONCACAF.

“This is a milestone day for U.S. Soccer and for CONCACAF,” Gulati said. “We gave careful consideration to the prospect of bidding for the 2026 FIFA World Cup, and ultimately feel strongly this is the right thing for our region and for our sport. Along with our partners from the Canadian Soccer Association and the Federación Mexicana de Fútbol, we are confident that we will submit an exemplary bid worthy of bringing the FIFA World Cup back to North America.”

“The United States, Mexico and Canada have individually demonstrated their exceptional abilities to host world-class events,” Gulati continued. “When our nations come together as one, as we will for 2026, there is no question the United States, Mexico and Canada will deliver an experience that will celebrate the game and serve players, supporters and partners alike.”

Gulati appeared alongside the president of the Canadian Soccer Association, Victor Montagliani, and the president of the Federación Mexicana de Fútbol, Decio de Maria. The conference announcing the bid was held at One World Observatory in New York City.

According to the finalized bid by the three nations, the United States would host a majority of the matches, including the final match. The bid includes the United States hosting 60 matches, while Canada and Mexico host 10 each. The number has gone up, as the 2026 FIFA World Cup has also made headlines due to FIFA electing to expand the World Cup starting that year. The 2026 World Cup will feature 48 teams instead of 32, expanding the matches played from 64 to 80.

The bid has also made news, also in a political stance. United States President Donald Trump has aggressively pushed for a travel ban on six Middle Eastern countries and has threatened to build a wall across the United States-Mexico border. Trump’s stance pushed the federations to work together more, as FIFA disapproved of the ban. According to Gulati, Trump “encouraged” the three nations to work together and was pleased with Mexico joining the bid.

“We don’t believe sport can solve all the issues in the world but, especially with what’s going on in the world today, we believe this is a hugely positive signal and symbol of what we can do together in unifying people, especially in our three countries,” Gulati said.

“For the Federación Mexicana de Fútbol, and the entire Mexican soccer family, it is a source of pride to be candidates, along with the United States and Canada, to host the FIFA World Cup in 2026,” de Maria said. “We have a unique opportunity to be the first country to host three World Cups. As such we are filled with pride and committed to make it the best ever.”

“Mexico has been recognized for being a magnificent host of past FIFA events, such as the 1970 and 1986 World Cups, the 1999 Confederations Cup, the 2011 Under-17 World Cup, and most recently the 2016 FIFA Congress,” de Maria continued. “If we are selected to host, it will be an honor to welcome everyone with open arms.”

“Canada Soccer is honored to partner with fellow CONCACAF member associations USA and Mexico to bid for the 2026 FIFA World Cup,” said Canadian Soccer President Victor Montagliani. He added that “Canada is the only remaining G-8 nation to have not hosted a FIFA World Cup despite our history of success in raising the bar for youth and women’s FIFA tournaments.”

“We look forward to continuing our successful collaboration with fellow CONCACAF member associations U.S. Soccer and Federación Mexicana de Fútbol under the FIFA Council principles for joint bids and to continue our tradition of hosting record-breaking international events,” Montagliani continued.

According to a report from ESPN, the United States, Canada and Mexico will request that FIFA speed up the process of selection. The winning-host nation would find out by 2020, but according to ESPN they could find out as early as this year.

The three nations are the only bid to have been submitted, and a country from Europe or Asia cannot submit a bid, due to the 2018 FIFA World Cup being held in Russia (Europe) and the 2022 FIFA World Cup being held in Qatar (Asia).


Photo courtesy of Getty Images.

Follow me on Twitter, @RachaelMcKriger, for all USMNT coverage.

Share on Facebook2Tweet about this on TwitterPin on Pinterest0Share on Google+0Share on Tumblr0
Rachael McKriger
Sports Journalist

Rachael McKriger writes for RSEN Report (Lead Editor), Pittsburgh Sports Castle (Content Editor), Mon Goals and W2M Network, in addition to being a sports stringer/reporter for the Mon Valley Independent newspaper.

A senior of California Univ. of Pennsylvania, you can follow her on Twitter, @RachaelMcKriger, where you can find all of her articles. Search “McKriger Photography” on Facebook, to see her photos.

Rachael McKriger on FacebookRachael McKriger on FlickrRachael McKriger on InstagramRachael McKriger on LinkedinRachael McKriger on Twitter

Leave a Reply